Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s spring time and spring is a time for change. A lot of people will change their perfume about this time of year, trying something new.

Not me. For me, perfume is about expressing how I feel inside, whether it’s light and fruity, deep and musky, or mysterious and luxe.
image

I have my tried and tested favourite and signature scents. Want to know what’s so special about them?

Tom Ford ‘Black Orchid’ 
image

£95 for 100ml | Notes: Bergamot, Citrus, Mandarin, Black Gardenia, Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Lotus Wood, Orchid, Spicy Floral Accord, Orchid (Tom Ford Black Accord), Patchouli, Sandalwood, Incense, Vanilla.

This is my super special date night perfume. Ordinary date night gets Calvin Klein Obsession or D&G The One. Special date night gets Black Orchid. It’s my go-to scent when I’m feeling mysterious and sexy. Often when I’m in the mood for dinner at Kenza near Liverpool Street. Kenza is a gorgeous Arab-themed cellar restaurant in Central London, where they have belly-dancing performances every hour, they pour mint tea from half-a-mile in the air (not really but it looks high), and the sinks in the toilets have a golden brassy finish. Super luxe.

So when I’m in the mood for Kenza, I’m in the mood for romance and luxury. That’s when I spritz my Tom Ford.

Calvin Klein ‘Obsession’
image

£55 for 100ml | Notes: Mandarin, Bergamot, Vanillin, Jasmine, Orange Blossom, Coriander, Tagette, Amber, Oakmoss.

This is an American classic. I am a huge lover of Calvin Klein perfumes and there are very few that I don’t like. This is a great Autumn ‘pick me up’ for me and I just keep coming back to it each September, when the new grads start at work and the ‘school year’ kicks off again. It just feels like Autumn.

Dolce Gabbana ‘The One’
image

£71.50 75ml | Notes: Bergamot, Mandarin, Lychee, Peach, Madonna Lily, Muguet, Plum, Jasmine, Vetiver, Vanilla, Amber, Musk.

This is my signature scent and has been my go-to perfume for almost 6 years. I wear it all year round, day and night. It suits me so well that I rarely change it up. If I have a hot date I’ll try one of the others but otherwise this really is ‘The One’. I discovered it in 2007, shortly after it launched, when I was perfume shopping for a long-lost friends 25th birthday gift. Buying perfume for someone else is always tricky, to be honest, perfume is sooo personal that you’re unlikely to get it right. On this occasion, I was spot on. I tried a number of perfumes and settled on a short list of 3 perfumes, and The One was the front runner. As it happened, she already had the other two, which were her regular fragrances. Result!

In the hunt for the perfect perfume for my friend I also found my new favourite fragrance. Six years on, I’m still rocking it.

Generally I’m an EDP kind of girl, and all of the above perfumes and prices are the Eau de Parfum versions rather than Eau de Toilette. The purer the perfume the better, as you need less of it and it’s longer lasting.

What memories do your favourite perfumes evoke? Are you still looking for your signature scent, or have you found it?

Follow on Bloglovin

