Tags

, , , , , ,

Women (and men) have been wearing rouge since the Ancient Egyptian era, maybe even earlier. Many different potions or natural treatments were used. In ancient Greece for example, crushed mulberries were a favourite, but beet juice also did the trick.

For a mess-free alternative these days we look to cosmetics to get a healthier, flushed look. In the past, one shade was often used for all, but these days we have the luxury of shade matching to our individual skin tones for a more natural look.

So where do you start?

First consider your skintone and then decide on your desired finish (power, cream or gel). I don’t have any gel blushers as I find that powder and cream blush do me just fine.

Skintone matching

Fair skintone suit Pink or soft peach shades.

My top pinks/ peaches: Clockwise from top left – Clinique Smoldering Plum, Clinique Iced Lotus, Kryolan Glossy Rose (Glossybox exclusive, but is basically Kryolan Glamour Glow in Blush Rose), Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched.
image

Vibrant Fuchsia and Coral shades flatter medium and tan skintones.
My favourite bright pink and coral blushes: Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Flushed & Coral Reef, Urban Decay Afterglow in Quickie, Topshop Cream Blush in Primetime. Sleek Peachy Keen powder blush (not pictured).
image
These shades may look scary but as they’re cream blushers, they are more sheer on the skin, giving a beautiful sheer glow.

Dark skin can carry deep reds, plums or hot pinks beautifully. My all-time favourite blushers for dark skintones are all from Sleek Makeup. These shades are just as bright as they look, so start with light hand with a tiny bit of product and build up.
image
Clockwise from top right – Blush by Three in Flame, Pink Sprint, Lace, Pumpkin and Sugar palettes.

I carry a mixture of powder and cream blush in my kit, although it is heavily weighted on the powder side. My favourite cream blusher products are those I’ve recommended above for medium skintones, so I won’t list them again here.

As a bonus, I’ve included my two favourite ‘suits all’ Summer blushers: Nars Orgasm, and Sleek Rose Gold.
image

Try these out and let me know what you think!

Follow on Bloglovin

