Tags

, , , ,

“Hi, it’s Nic/ Sam from Pixiwoo…” is a well-known and much loved opening line on YouTube. Nic Haste & Sam Chapman are freelance makeup artists. From their base in Norwich, they also run training courses for makeup artists.

I’m a Johnny-come-lately when it comes to Pixiwoo. I’ve only been a YouTube subscriber for about a year now. A chance link to one of their YouTube videos and now I’m hooked.

I love how they make celebrity looks accessible and break them down into manageable steps.

Here are some of my favourite looks from Nic. The Rooney Mara look (second on the right) is achievable but so effective. Then there’s the Cheryl Cole Jubilee concert look (bottom centre). I love the depth Nic creates with the different layers of deep blue.

image

I love Nic’s celebrity looks, but it’s the advanced techniques that Sam uses that I like the most; she never fail to impress. Whether it’s the right way to ombre, eyebrow blocking, or everyday brow grooming, I always learn new things from Sam’s tutorials.

The eyebrow blocking for the Eva Green/ Vesper Lynd Bond Girl look is one of my all-time favourites. The transformation in her face once the brows were lowered was really phenomenal.

image

My other all-time favourite video from Sam is the red ombre look. Ombre brows, lids and lips. If you’re going to do the ombre look, this is how it’s done.

So ladies, thanks for all the tips and advice you’ve given us. Long may you continue!

Follow on Bloglovin

