Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Over late summer and into Autumn, I was having a bit of a love in with my NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream. It’s a vibrant fuchsia that can be worn lightly for an office appropriate colour pop lip.

image

NYX: Soft Matte Lip Cream in Addis Ababa

I spotted a similar product from the Collection 2000 range and wanted to see if it lived up to the standard of my beloved budget buy lip cream from NYX. I thought I’d try a more neutral shade for once. Here’s how I got on.

image

Collection 2000: Cream Puff Moisturising Lip Cream in shade 4 Angel Delight

Price
Collection 2000 – £2.99
NYX – £5

Volume
Collection 2000 – 5ml/ 0.18 oz
NYX – 0.23 oz

Shade range
Collection 2000 – 4 neutral shades
NYX – 11 brights/ neutral shades

Texture/ Finish
Collection 2000 – creamy velvet soft finish. Exactly as described on packaging.
NYX – Soft matte finish but not as creamy as Collection 2000.

Hydration
Collection 2000 – Not drying at all when first applied. After a few hours what was left was not dry or flaky.
NYX – A little drying after a few hours but no flaking.

Longevity
NYX – This lasted around 5 hours and had very little transfer. The colour stayed even throughout that time even with eating and drinking.
Collection 2000 – This did transfer after eating and drinking but only in the centre. The shade is a perfect nude for my lips and so the fading wasn’t obvious.

Availability
Collection 2000 – Boots, Superdrug, local chemists nationally
NYX – online only, either at NYX Cosmetics UK Store or online makeup & beauty retailers.

Which one gets my vote?
Both!

I love the neutral shades of Collection 2000! Regular readers will know just how much I love my statement bright lips, so this product is really something to have won me over to the nude side.

NYX has better staying power, more product and gives more even application, but is more expensive (but still under a fiver).

Whether you want a subtle everyday neutral or colourful lip that is suitable for a more conservative office, try one of these and let me know how you get on.

Follow on Bloglovin

