Tags

, , , , , ,

Big hair is here to stay.

It came back in the Noughties and is still going strong into 2013. Backcombing has become an essential skill for all glamazons. It’s easy to backcomb and get volume. It’s harder to shape the resulting birds nest into style. Once the night is over, there’s the dreaded task of brushing out all that mess.

Someone help us, please!

‘Someone’ heard our cries and gave us a helping hand…

… and some backcombing powder.

The first brand I bought was from Toni & Guy (Resurrection Style Dust £10.95 for 3g) after it was highly recommended by Elle magazine. I must admit that I’ve not used it yet. It was so expensive and comes in such a tiny bottle (just 3g!), that I’m saving it. Saving for what, I don’t know.

So when I spotted a budget version from Tresemmé, I thought I’d give it a go.

Price: £5.50
Weight/ volume: 10g
Features: Instantly lifts roots and adds matte texture.
Purchased/ sample: purchased (part of Tresemmé 3 for £9 deal at Boots)

image

Sales blurb: Creates instant root lift for sky high styles. This lightweight powder with Volume Control Complex absorbs easily to offer amazing plumping effect with natural matte texture.

So what did I think?

The powder is very fine and lightweight and is easy to apply. I applied to my roots in sections, and really massaged the powder into the roots. The more I massaged, the bigger the hair became. It was like magic!
Here’s the effect after massaging a small amount (about a 5p piece worth) into my roots all over my head.

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

Great to style, restyle, and style again and again. After brushing my hair flat again, all it took was some more massage into my roots (no more product added) to get the hair volumised again. The best part is that I got backcomb volume without the birds nest.

It’s a fantastic dupe for the more expensive products: Toni & Guy Style Resurrection Dust, VO5 Give Me Texture Powder, Tigi Bed Head Candy Fixations Sugar Dust, Schwarzkopf GOT2B Volume Style Powder, Schwarzkopf Osis Dust-It Mattifying powders… et cetera.

Yay or nay
The results speak for themselves. A huge YAY!

At only £5.50, it’s a great way to cheat backcomb volume and saves time/ hair breakage when brushing out too. I wish I’d bought this back in 2011 when it first came out. Now I can’t wait to try the Tresemmé Backcomb Dust which I also bought as part of the 3 for £9 deal!

P.S. Don’t forget that today is DAY TWO of my 12 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS giveaway! Enter todays draw by posting a comment at the bottom of THIS POST.

Make sure to tag it #12daysgiveaway and if you’re on Twitter, add your username (@….) here as well.

First commenter = #1, Second = #2, etc and at 9am (UK time) the next morning I’ll draw a random number as the winner!

Follow on Bloglovin

