Tags

, , ,

As a wedding or party invite comes through the door, the same questions are asked; saree or suit? Old or new?

When splashing out on a new outfit, my rule of thumb is never pay more than £100 for a suit. If it costs more than £100 (even if it’s stunning) I walk away and spend my £100 on a great saree instead, as you get more for your money.

Here are some of my favourite sarees under £100.

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

This blue and purple saree is a simple polyester saree with gold threaded embroidery. It’s accented with small blue stones, but remains subtle rather than glitzy. It was my Eid-ul-Adha (2012) saree, but I didn’t end up wearing it on Eid, as it got too chilly so I stayed in my cosy purple velvet kameeze when visiting family in the evening. This still has to have it’s party debut, perhaps New Years dawaat… any invites?

 

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

Eid-ul-Fitr 2011 saree, worn here to a mehendi party in Spring 2012. This is a half-and-half viscose/ jacquard saree, with gold designs on the viscose portion, and a sheer, swirly pattern on the red jacquard portion. I love the contract of the royal blue with the scarlet. It was an easy way to introduce a bit of dark blue to my wardrobe while the red keeps the overall look vibrant.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com This saree is one of my favourites, due in no small part to the striking red base colour. I don’t shy away from bright colours, and the more that ‘elders’ tell me that I ‘shouldn’t wear bright colours in [my] condition‘ (erm.. my condition? I was pregnant, no reason not to wear red or any other colour), the more I wear them. This red viscose saree with cream net panel and black velvet patches is one that I come back to time and again, as I love the mixture of the different textures.

 

 

 

 

 

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

This green viscose (yes, viscose again!) half-net saree is another of my favourites. It’s a simple, easy to wear and in traditional mehendi colours. What I like about the half-net is that the net half isn’t across the body and the achal (thereby exposing my expanding tum – I was 5-months pregnant at the time), but is across the bottom half lengthways. This means that when cleverly folded, you can see the net part in the achal/ pallu, while the stomach area is always fully covered. Genius! Although it’s more of a mehendi saree, this photo was taken at a small, low-key local wedding.

 

 

 

 

 

 

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

This magenta saree is a bit of a gem. It was gifted to me by a relative at a post-wedding dawaat (dinner party). I wasn’t too keen on it, as it didn’t look particularly ‘special’ as it lay folded in the plastic packet. Once I tried it on, it was a different story. It worked beautifully for this evening mehendi party in May 2011, as the light reflected against the shimmery copper threads woven into the saree, and really highlighted the copper and black work on the border. The saree is much more three-dimensional than it looked when folded. Sometimes you need to try a saree on to see its true beauty. The dark-lighting really doesn’t do the saree justice. I need to hunt out a better photo of this one.

 

 

 

 

  

I hope that you can see that not all designer/ party-wear sarees will break the bank. Sarees can be affordable and gorgeously party-appropriate at only £100.

What are your favourite sarees under £100?

Follow on Bloglovin

