Tags

, , , , , ,

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

Backcomb in a bottle was developed by Umberto Giannini and launched in 2010. While it’s not a new product, I thought it’s worth trying out for this Christmas/ New Year party season. We all want to spend less time  ‘getting ready’ and more time partying. So does it do what it says on the tin? Read on.

[Full size version]
Price: £5.61 (yes, randomly there’s an extra penny on there)
Weight/ volume: 200ml
Features: texture and volume hairspray
Purchased/ sample: purchased

Sales blurb:
Umberto Giannini Glam Hair Backcomb In A Bottle provides instant miracle volume and sexy texture.

www.eyespybeauty.wordpress.com

The first thing to note is that I bought the travel size version just to try it out.

The directions for use: Spray from approx 6 inches to where you want backcomb effect and jujj hair into shape.

I have very fine hair and I need heavy backcombing to give my hair any lift or volume. For everyday I just can’t be fussed with backcombing. On special occasions I don’t have the time to spend on getting myself ready, I have small children to prep first. So… I really, really wanted this to work…

… and it does!

I just lifted small sections and sprayed it into roots. Then I ‘jujjed’ my hair, massaging it into my roots. The product built up slowly and gave a really nice, natural ‘oomph’ and thickness to my roots. I didn’t tease any further but if you want to capitalise on this volume, you can do so by teasing at the roots to get really BIG hair.

My only bugbear is that while the nozzle on the mini cans is shaped to really target the sections one at a time, the nozzle itself is a bit stiff. You need to press down really hard for the product to come out. This made it hard for me to control the amount of product applied. But I can overlook that issue because the spray is just SO DAMNED GOOD!

I used it again a few days later on fresh hair, to be sure that it wasn’t a one-off good result on second-day hair. I used it to give body for a beehive. It did not disappoint.

Needless to say, I went out and bought some more mini cans for my desk at the office, the car, my travel bag, and some full size cans for my dressing table and my kit. You don’t need to buy as many as I did, but do buy one. You won’t regret it.

Follow on Bloglovin

