Tags

, , , , , ,

Jewels jewels jewels.

I’ve always been a bit of a magpie. I love the opulence of chunky crystal & stone jewels in bold, vibrant colours.


Recently I’ve been lusting after these stunners (below) from Erickson Beamon and Tom Binns.

image

Tom Binns: pictures courtesy of Net-A-Porter. All rights reserved. ©Net-A-Porter 2012

image

Erickson Beamon: pictures courtesy of Net-A-Porter. All rights reserved. ©Net-A-Porter 2012

Knowing full well that I can’t afford them (and probably won’t in the near future) I have looked to the high street to supply my fix. Fortunately the Great British High Street did not let me down.

I found this beauty (with matching ring) in Primarni and instantly saw the likeness to Erickson Beamons

The necklace is a purse-friendly £8 and the ring is a pocket-money treat at only £4.

image

Photo copyright Eyespybeauty. All rights reserved. ©Eyespybeauty 2012

These Topshop earrings bear more than a passing resemblance to items from Tom Binns collection.

image

As if I wasn’t already pretty pleased over my Primark and Topshop bargains, I had an improptu Accessorize spree just before Eid. This seasons Accessorize range is gorgeous. Here are some of my favourites.

image

image

How do the Accessorize pieces stack up against the designer jewellery? Judge for yourself. Left pictures are Accessorize, right are designer.

image

image

I do believe in spending more on quality jewellery that will become family heirlooms and last for generations. Unfortunately, following a burglary at my home in 2011, I lost all of my gold jewellery. After losing so much, I am less attached to designer jewellery as heirloom pieces. I now tend to mix my high-end and high street pieces.

image

Top: courtesy of Net-A-Porter. All rights reserved. ©Net-A-Porter  2012
Bottom: courtesy of Primark. All rights reserved. ©Primark 2012

Where do you stand on high street vs high end issue?

