Tags

, ,

One of my favourite beauty products is Elizabeth Arden 8-hour cream. (See my previous post; 8 ways to use your 8H cream).

image

I’ve tried other products in the 8H range, and have tried (and loved) the Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Lipstick. So far so good. I decided to try more of the range, so I picked up the Elizabeth Arden Lip Fix Cream.

Price: RRP £20 (I paid £11.50 from Brand Alley)
Weight/ volume: 0.5 fl oz/ 15ml
Shades: n/a
My shade: n/a
Features: cream lip primer
Purchased/ sample: purchased

image

Sales blurb:
Minimises lipstick bleeding and feathering. Helps smooth out tiny vertical dryness lines and soften dry lips.

image

+ smooths lip surface and creates an even base for lip colour to hold on to (my Maybelline 10H lip stain gloss lasted a show-stopping 12H – previously only managed 9H)

+ it does soften dry lips as claimed (but it’s best to moisturise/ use lip salve first)

+/- it does smooth very fine lines on the lips but only the very very faint ones. While it lives up to the claim, for me there’s little value in smoothing tiny lines if the really deep lines are still there. I don’t mind having fine lines, so didn’t get too excited about this.

No brush/ sponge applicator. Applied with fingers or you need to carry a lip brush or gloss wand with you.

The smell. This does have a slightly chemical smell but this fades on application.

Yay or nay
Rating 4 out of 5
It’s a good product in terms of softening lips ready for lip colour. It doesn’t smooth fine lines enough to be noticeable, but the smoother surface does help colour last much longer. For that reason I give it a 4 out of 5. It’s great for occasional use or party wear, when you want to minimise touch-ups, but a bit pricey for everyday. The product would be much more effective on mature lips where feathering is more prevalent.

