Tags

, , , , ,

Hi. My name’s Tas and I’m a makeup-a-holic.

Yes, it’s true. I’m addicted to buying makeup. Once I find a product I love, I panic buy in every shade just in case the company discontinue it.

One of my favourites of 2012 is Maybelline Colour Tattoo cream eyeshadow. I don’t love all of the shades but I do love most of them. Colour Tattoo is a great dupe for the more expensive cream shadows.

image

The MeMeMe dew pots aren’t bad but their consistency is very different and so isn’t directly comparable to the mid-range cream shadows (MAC, Bobbi Brown). In terms of value, Maybelline wins hands down.

The shade range from Maybelline is great for those that love bright, strong colours. The Pixiwoo ladies, Nic and Sam made a great point in their recent ‘drugstore haul’ video. They noted that drugstore/ chemist makeup brands are great for vibrant colours but not so great on neutral colours.

Not a big problem for me. Being of the South Asian persuasion, party and wedding makeup is very Bollywood (think ‘brighter is better’). I’ve always been disappointed that the premium and mid-range cosmetics brands just don’t do bright enough colours. The chemist/ high street brands offer amazing colour ranges but the issue for me was poor longevity with cheaper brands. Maybelline have blasted that misconception to smithereens (such an English expression, I know). So recently I’ve drifted back towards chemist/ drugstore brands and have been pleasantly surprised.

image

Bollywood-inspired eye looks

I’ve wittered on enough about why I love this brand. Now onto the point of this post. I had major makeup envy when I saw some US beauty bloggers had colours not available in the UK. #SadTimes 😦

A sis-in-law from the States has made my week (woo yay!) by picking up some colours I couldn’t find in the UK. After a bit of head-scratching, she managed to find the colours from my amazingly detailed descriptions (erm… I want the red-ish, orange-ish, green-ish ones). Find them she did and just in time for Eid tomorrow. So I am a very happy bunny indeed. A very happy colourful bunny.

Here they are… *drum roll* dun dun duuuun…

image

image

image

image

image

L-R: 30 Pomegranite Punk, 10 Fierce & Tangy, 50 Edgy Emerald

Now I’ve got my new traffic light colours I’m going to go a little wild with mixing and matching to the rest of the shades in the range.
Pics will follow soon. Lots of them. You have been warned.

Goodbye and thanks for reading!
xx

